masai_200731_258.jpg

Welcome to the association
"Massai Art & Heart"

Shop for Good

The Maasai are originally a nomadic pastoral people in East Africa. Our association members have a big heart for the Maasai people and their outstanding, world-famous handicrafts. In the association, we put our heart and soul into the sale of Masai handicrafts in Switzerland. Our «Massai Art & Heart» -productions are made by women and are stylish, authentic and give the wearer a lot of pleasure.

With the purchase of Maasai products you support Maasai small producers on site and enable them a fair, regular income. With the sales proceeds and your donation, the association also supports meaningful educational projects in Kenya, which help to improve the living conditions of the ethnic minority of the Maasai.

massaiart.jpg

Our products

Maasai jewelry for a good cause

A minority is fighting for their territory

Who are the Maasai anyway? The term Masai stands for the "people who speak the Maa language". Today, the majority of the population lives in Kenya and partly in northern Tanzania. According to the last Kenyan census, around 1.2 million Maasai live in Kenya. In neighboring Tanzania, according to the “ Minority Rights” website, there were around 430,000 people. Nomadic shepherd peoples like the Maasai have been roaming Kenya for centuries. But since the British colonization in the 20th century, their land use rights have been severely restricted. The Maasai are still restricted in their freedom of movement through land sales, which continue to this day.

 

Supporting the Maasai is very simple

Since many Maasai can neither read nor write, they are often unable to represent their interests. Our association advocates the right to self-determination and education of this minority and wants to make the handicrafts of the Maasai and their culture better known in Switzerland. You can read more about the culture and way of life as well as the problems of the Maasais here .

 

Support our association with a membership , donation or by buying Masai handicrafts in the shop and strengthen Maasai women and promote the education of Maasai childern in Kenya.

masai_200731_544_edited.jpg

Questions about the club or shop? Contact us

Association "Massai Art & Heart"
c / o Marleen De Heyn Huber

Bahnhofstrasse 10a
CH-5722 Graenichen

Tel .: 0041 62 843 08 08

Mobile: 0041 79 509 01 92

Email: info@massaiartandheart.ch

Association and donation account: CH79 0900 0000 1549 0927 6

Thanks for submitting!

news

Herzlich willkommen beim Verein
"Massai Art & Heart"

Shop for Good

Die Massai sind ein ursprünglich nomadisch lebendes Hirtenvolk in Ostafrika. Unsere Vereinsmitglieder haben ein grosses Herz für das Massai-Volk und ihr herausragendes, weltweit bekanntes Kunsthandwerk. Im Verein setzen wir uns mit Herzblut für den Absatz von Massai-Kunsthandwerk in der Schweiz ein. Unsere «Massai Art&Heart»-Anfertigungen werden von Frauen produziert und sind stilvoll, authentisch und bereiten den Trägerinnen und Trägern viel Freude.


Mit dem Kauf von Massai-Produkten unterstützen Sie Massai-Kleinproduzentinnen vor Ort und ermöglichen ihnen ein faires, regelmässiges Einkommen. Der Verein unterstützt mit den Verkaufserlösen und Ihrer Spende zudem sinnvolle Bildungsprojekte in Kenia, welche helfen, die Lebensumstände der ethnischen Minderheit der Massai zu verbessern.

massaiart.jpg
 
 

Massai-Schmuck für den guten Zweck

Eine Minderheit kämpft um ihr Territorium

Wer sind eigentlich die Massai ? Der Begriff Massai steht für das «Volk, das die Maa-Sprache spricht». Es lebt heute mehrheitlich in Kenia und zum Teil auch im Norden von Tansania. Gemäss der letzten kenianischen Volkszählung leben rund 1,2 Millionen Massai in Kenia. Im Nachbarland Tansania waren es gemäss der Website «Minderheitsrechte» rund 430'000 Personen. Nomadisch lebende Hirtenvölker wie die Massai ziehen seit Jahrhunderten durch Kenia. Doch seit der Kolonialisierung durch die Briten im 20. Jahrhundert wurden ihre Landnutzungsrechte stark eingeschränkt. Durch bis heute anhaltende Landverkäufe werden die Massai in ihrer Bewegungsfreiheit weiter eingeschränkt.

Die Massai unterstützen ist ganz einfach

Da viele Massai weder lesen noch schreiben können, sind sie oft nicht in der Lage, ihre Interessen zu vertreten. Unser Verein setzt sich für das Selbstbestimmungsrecht und Bildung dieser Minderheit ein und möchte das Kunsthandwerk der Massai sowie ihre Kultur in der Schweiz bekannter machen. Mehr über die Kultur und Lebensweise sowie die Probleme der Massais lesen Sie hier.  


Unterstützen Sie unseren Verein mit einer Mitgliedschaft, Spende oder mit dem Kauf von Massai-Kunsthandwerk im Shop und stärken Sie damit Massai-Frauen in Kenia.

masai_200731_544.jpg
 

Fragen zum Verein oder Shop? Kontaktieren Sie uns

Verein «Massai Art&Heart»
c/o Marleen De Heyn Huber

Bahnhofstrasse 10a
5722 Gränichen

Tel.: 0041 62 843 08 08

Mobil: 0041 79 509 01 92

E-Mail: info@massaiartandheart.ch

Vereins- und Spendenkonto: CH79 0900  0000 1549 0927 6

 
 
 
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

©2020 Massai Art&Heart. Erstellt mit Wix.com